Treasury HomeContact Us

Related Topics

  • Commission Purpose
  • About the Claims Commission
  • Statutes and Rules
  • How Do I?

GavelThe Claims Commission adjudicates claims involving tax recovery, state employee workers' compensation, and alleged negligence by state officials or agencies (e.g., negligent care, custody, or control of persons, personal property, or animals; professional malpractice; negligent operation or maintenance of a motor vehicle; and dangerous conditions on state-maintained highways or state controlled real property). These claims are payable from the Risk Management Fund. Damages are limited to $300,000 per claimant and $1,000,000 per occurrence. The Claims Commission also adjudicates contract claims involving the State.

A full list of the areas over which the Claims Commission has jurisdiction can be found in T.C.A. 9-8-307.

In addition, the commission awards compensation to victims of crime through the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund. The Treasury Department's Division of Claims Administration is responsible for paying all claims.

 

The Tennessee Claims Commission is the Tribunal (Court) that decides the claims that are either Transferred to us from the Division of Claims Administration or the Claimant wishes to Appeal a decision made by the Division of Claims Administration. The Claims Commission has jurisdiction over the following types of claims:

  • State employee workers' compensation;
  • Criminal Injury Compensation Fund Application appeals;
  • Alleged negligence by state officials or agencies (e.g., negligent care, custody, or control of persons, personal property, or animals; professional malpractice; negligent operation or maintenance of a motor vehicle; and dangerous conditions on state-maintained highways or state controlled real property). T.C.A.9-8-307
  • Tax recovery*
  • Denial of a Charitable Gaming Application*

The Treasury Department's Division of Claims Administration is responsible for paying all claims. All claims where an award for damages occurs are made payable from the Risk Management Fund. Damages are limited to $300,000 per claimant and $1,000,000 per occurrence.

*All claims with the exception of the following are filed first with the  Division of Claims Administration:

  • Tax paid under protest T.C.A.9-8-307(o)
  • Request for Review of the Denial of a Charitable Gaming Application T.C.A. 3-17-104.

The statues that authorize the Claims Commission and specify its role with respect to the claims process and the Criminal Injury Compensation Fund include:

The Claims Commission follows the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedures and the Tennessee Rules of Evidence. In addition, you may obtain a copy of our local rules by clicking here.


How do I obtain subpoenas?
Subpoenas may be obtained from the Clerk's office. The following information is needed:

1. Claimant's Name.
2. Division to which the Claim has been assigned.
3. Claim Number.
4. Number of subpoenas required.

Subpoenas are issued blank. The attorney/claimant may serve the subpoena or have the sheriff's department serve them. The Clerk does not serve subpoenas. If a subpoena is not for the hearing in the matter, it may be necessary to modify the text.

back to top

Will the Clerk's office fax me blank subpoenas?
No. Request and allow time for subpoenas to be sent to you through the U.S. Postal Service. (Request subpoenas at least two weeks before a hearing.)

back to top

How do I schedule hearings before the Claims Commission?
Each Commissioner sets his/her docket. Please contact the Commissioner's secretary in the division in which your claim has been assigned for all scheduling matters.

back to top

How do I obtain copies of documents from the Claims Commission?
You may request copies by calling, faxing, or writing to the Clerk's office. There is a charge of 15 cents per page for each standard 8 x 11 or 8 x 14 black and white copy produced and postage per the Schedule of Reasonable Charges for Copies of Public Records. The Clerk's office will notify you of the amount due and it must be paid prior to any documents being released. Mail checks or money orders payable to:

TN Claims Commission Clerk's Office
Paula Swanson, Clerk
502 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37243

back to top

What are the Clerk's office hours?
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. till 4:30 p.m., Central Standard

back to top