Treasury HomeContact Us

Publications


Additional Information

Related Links


  • CIC-Eligibility
A person may be eligible for benefits under the following circumstances:
  • A person who suffered bodily injury as an innocent victim of a violent criminal act occurring within the borders of Tennessee, whether a state or federal crime.
  • A resident of Tennessee who was an innocent victim of a violent crime that occurred in another state that does not have a victims’ compensation program. At this time, all other states have a victims’ compensation program.
  • Dependents of a homicide victim. Certain relatives may qualify for medical and funeral expenses, and in some cases, dependency, mental health counseling and crime scene cleanup. If there are no surviving dependents, the victim’s estate may qualify for certain unreimbursed expenses.
  • An innocent person who sustained bodily injury or death while attempting to prevent a criminal act or in an attempt to apprehend a person(s) suspected of engaging in a criminal act.
  • A person who suffered bodily injury or death as a result of a motor vehicle or watercraft accident caused by an intoxicated driver or by a driver who acted with criminal intent to intentionally inflict injury. In some circumstances, a passenger in the vehicle or watercraft driven by the intoxicated driver may not qualify for compensation.
  • For crimes occurring on or after July 1, 2008, a person who suffered serious bodily injury or death and the evidence shows the operator of the vehicle causing the injury knew or reasonably should have known such injury occurred, but failed to stop at the scene (in violation of Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 55, Chapter 10, Section 101).

In order for a victim to receive Criminal Injuries Compensation, he or she must meet the following conditions:
  • The victim (or the victim’s survivors) must report the crime to the proper authorities within 48 hours after the crime was committed, unless the victim was a minor or good cause can be shown for reporting the crime late.
  • The individual could not have contributed to his or her own victimization in any way (directly or indirectly), such as participating in the criminal act that led to the injury or death.
  • The victim must fully cooperate with law enforcement officials in the investigation and prosecution of the crime.
  • A claim application must be filed within one year after the date of the criminal act, unless good cause can be established for not doing so.

A person may not be eligible for benefits if he or she fails to meet any of the above eligibility requirements or under the following circumstances:
  • The individual was a passenger in a vehicle or watercraft operated by a driver the passenger knew or should have known was legally intoxicated and/or under the influence of a drug of abuse, unless the person is under age 14 OR at least 14 years of age but less than 18 and was riding with someone exercising parental control. The fact that the passenger may have been under the influence of alcohol and/or a drug of abuse does not excuse a failure to have known the condition of the driver.
  • An award may not be approved in cases where the compensation would benefit the person who committed the crime.