WHO PROVIDES THE COMPENSATION?

The Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund is
administered by the Division of Claims Administration
in the Tennessee Treasury Department. The Criminal
Injuries Compensation Act of 1976 created the Fund.
It is collected from fines, penalties, and fees paid by
criminals to state and federal courts. All guidelines
are based on statutory law found in Tennessee Code
Annotated, Title 29, Chapter 13.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT

Tennessee Treasury Department
Division of Claims Administration
502 Deaderick St
Nashville, TN 37243-0202
(615) 741-2734
Fax (615) 532-4979
Forms and information are available at:
www.treasury.tn.gov/injury

Treasury Department, July 2016;
Authorization #309018; 3,000 copies.
This public document was printed
at a cost of 9¢ per copy.

This pamphlet is intended to provide a general outline of the
Criminal Injuries Compensation Program. The information
in the pamphlet is subject to legislative change and judicial
interpretation. It does not supersede nor restrict procedures or
authority established under state statute. The statues governing
the program are contained in Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 29,
Chapter 13, Parts 1 and 3. The Tennessee Department of Treasury
operates all programs and activities free from discrimination
on the basis of sex, race, or any other classification protected
by federal or Tennessee state law. Individuals with disabilities
who may require an alternative communication format for this
or other Treasury Department publications, please contact the
Treasury ADA coordinator at 615-741-2956.
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INNOCENT VICTIMS OF
VIOLENT CRIME IN TENNESSEE
MAY QUALIFY FOR ASSISTANCE

WITH CERTAIN EXPENSES

YOU MAY QUALIFY IF YOU ARE:

e the victim of the crime (the person who received
the injury)

e adependent of a deceased victim
e the adminstrator of the victim's estate

e someone who was injured trying to prevent a
crime or apprehend the criminal

e a relative responsible for funeral or burial costs
(see eligible relatives)

e arelative of a homicide victim who has received
mental health counseling (see eligible relatives)

e avictim's child who has received counseling as
a result of witnessing domestic violence against
the victim

e the sibling or parent of a victim of child sex
abuse who has received counseling as a result of
the offender's abuse of the victim

WHAT ARE THE ELIGIBILITY RULES?

e The crime must be reported within 48 hours to
authorities (unless the victim is a minor child or
there is a good cause).

e The crime must happen in Tennessee.

e The victim’s actions cannot contribute to the
crime.

e The victim/claimant must cooperate with police
and efforts to prosecute.

e An application must be filed within one year of
the date of injury or death (unless the victim or a
dependent is a minor or there is a good cause).

e There must be an eligible expense. This program
is a fund of last resort, so it does not consider
any costs that are covered by another source.

WHAT EXPENSES MAY BE ELIGIBLE?

Medical Bills/Mental Health Counseling

This includes medical expenses directly related to
the injury from the crime, up to the maximum award
available. Any counseling services must be necessary
due to the injury and may be considered for the
victim up to the maximum award. In some cases,
certain relatives may qualify up to a maximum of
$3,500 for mental health counseling.

Lost Wages

The victim may qualify if employed at the time
of injury. The program only considers wages lost
because the victim is not physically able to work after
the injury. Appropriate documentation is required to
prove the wages lost.

Permanent Impairment/Disability

This requires a rating of the injury by a doctor and
any payment is based on the victim’s weekly wage,
the impairment rating, and provisions in the law.



Funeral / Burial

Certain relatives may qualify (see eligible relatives)
up to a maximum of $6,000 for funeral and burial
expenses.

Loss of Financial Support to Dependents

There must be proof the victim was supporting the
dependent(s) at the time of death. Those filing for a
dependent child (or as an adult child) of the victim
must provide proof of paternity. Any benefits for loss
of support fall within the program maximum and
may be divided among all eligible persons.

Pain and Suffering

A victim of a sexually-oriented crime may be eligible
for up to $3,000, if it is determined he or she
experienced pain and suffering as a result of the
crime.

Moving Expenses

If the crime occurs in the victim’s primary residence,
payment may be considered for a victim’s reasonable
moving costs, storage fees, and utility transfer fee.

Crime Scene Clean Up

If the crime occurs in the victim’s or an eligible
relative’s home, the program may consider up to
$3,000 in costs for cleaning and removal of materials.
This does not include repairs or replacement.

Trial Travel Expenses

Up to $1,250 in travel expenses to attend the trial
and certain proceedings after it may be considered
for up to four eligible persons, including the victim
and certain relatives. Persons who are eligible to
receive witness fees from the state or county are not
eligible.

WHAT EXPENSES ARE NOT ELIGIBLE?

e Travel to doctor appointments
e  Costs from identity theft or fraud
e Wages lost by anyone except the victim

e Relocation expenses such as deposits, rent,
breaking a lease, and utility bills

e Lost, stolen, or damaged property
Exceptions may include eyeglasses, dental
devices, some medically-related devices, and
prosthetics (if it is clear they were damaged in
the crime)

e Expenses that are (or will be) paid by:
TennCare, Medicare, or other Health Insurance
Auto Insurance
Life or Burial Insurance
Sick or Vacation Pay
Workers’ Compensation
Court-Ordered Restitution
Donations
Home-Owner’s Insurance
ANY other public or private resource

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is the maximum compensation?

The overall maximum benefit for the combined
expenses for a victim and/or other eligible persons is
$30,000, increasing to $31,900 for crimes occurring
on or after July 1, 2016.

Who files the claim?

The person who is legally responsible for the eligible
expenses that are not covered by other resources.

Should | file a claim if my bills have been paid by
insurance?

The program can only consider those portions of
a bill that are not covered by another source. The
program is a fund of last resort.

Do | need a police report?

Yes, or other official documentation to show the crime
was reported to the appropriate law enforcement
authorities.

Does an arrest have to be made before | file a claim?

No. It is possible the offender may not be identified
or arrested.

Must the case in court be finished before | file a
claim?

No. In fact, the trial may not be finished until long
after the time limit to file a claim has expired.

How will | be compensated?

The program can only consider the reimbursement or
payment of those eligible expenses that are properly
documented. There is no automatic award when a
victim has been injured.

Who are the eligible relatives?

As defined in Tennessee Code Annotated (T.C.A.),
Section 29-13-102 (11), the victim’s “relatives”
are limited to the spouse, parent, grandparent,
stepparent, child, grandchild, brother, half-brother,
sister, half-sister, and the spouse’s parents or
stepparents.

How are payments made?

Payments may be made directly to the service
provider, directly to the victim, or to both. See the
next question for payments to minor children.

How are awards paid to minor children?

Usually, an award that is paid directly to a minor child
is placed in trust with the juvenile court. The court
will determine if the funds may be used before the
child reaches age 18.

Is a victim injured in a car or boating accident
eligible?

Maybe, if the victim is injured in one of these specific
crimes: DUI, hit and run (with a serious injury),
or a driver intentionally struck the victim. Certain
exclusions apply for passengers riding with an
intoxicated driver. You may call our office for more
information.

How does the process begin?

An eligible person submits a completed application
with notarized signature and the other required
paperwork. The claim is assigned to an examiner who
sends the claimant or the attorney the first letter in
about two weeks.

How long does it take to process a claim?

Usually, a claim may be processed in 90 days.
Incomplete applications, missing documentation,
and suspended claims may delay the process.

What if | need help filling out the forms?

Call (615) 741-2734 and ask for the Customer Service
Representative.

SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAM (S.A.F.E.)

If you are a sexual assault victim and you are given
a sexual assault forensic exam for the collection
of evidence, the provider cannot bill you for the
services. The provider must bill the Criminal Injuries
Compensation Fund directly and cannot bill any
balance left to the patient after payment. Any
provider with questions should phone our office

about the process.

Since the first claims were paid in
1982, the program has awarded more

than S266 million to crime victims.




