State of Tennessee
Division of Claims Administration
502 Deaderick Street ¢ Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0202
Telephone: (615) 741-2734 ¢ Fax: (615) 532-4979
Website: www.treasury.tn.gov/injury
E-mail: Criminal.Injury@tn.gov
A Division of the Tennessee Treasury Department

TENNESSEE CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION APPLICATION

PURPOSE

When a person is injured in a crime in the state of Tennessee, that victim or certain family members may apply to the
Tennessee Criminal Injuries Compensation Program for help with the injury-related expenses. The program is managed by the
Tennessee Treasury Department’s Division of Claims Administration. The goal of the program is to ease the financial burden of
crimes involving injury whenever the victim or family members meet certain requirements. The program can approve a claim
only if the victim meets eligibility requirements, if the crime involves injury and is a type of crime the program can consider,
and if the expenses covered by the program are properly documented.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

M File an application within one year of the date of injury or death. If the victim is under 18 years of age, the legal guardian
must file the claim on behalf of the minor victim. The guardian may file the claim until the victim reaches 18 years of age.
An adult who was victimized as a minor, or who lost financial support as a minor due to the death of a victim, may file on
his/her behalf until he/she reaches age 19.

M Complete all pages of the application. If completing by hand, use BLACK or BLUE INK. Please print clearly. Answer all
questions. Unanswered questions will slow or prevent the processing of the application. The person filing the claim must
sign Section G in the presence of a notary.

M You are not required to have an attorney complete this application. If you wish, however, you may do so. Any
communication about your claim will be directly through your attorney, and he/she may be eligible for attorney fees.

M Submit the application to the program office at the address on the top of this page. The application is not “filed” until the
Division of Claims Administration receives all completed pages by mail or by fax. Call (615) 741-2734 and ask to speak to a
Customer Service Representative if you have questions about the application.

M The expenses you want the program to consider must be first filed with any/all other public or private sources of
assistance, such as health, life, burial, and/or auto insurance, workers’ compensation, sick leave/vacation pay, etc. The
program can only consider those expenses the victim or relative must pay out of pocket. This is a fund of last resort.

M Attach copies of itemized bills from service providers, receipts, insurance benefit statements, and any other
documentation to support the expenses you wish the program to consider. Refer to the list of eligible expenses on the first
page of the application if you are not sure the expense can be considered.

M Respond as soon as possible to any letters from our office.

M Notify our office immediately if there is any change in your address or phone number while the claim is being processed.
The claim may be denied if we have no valid contact information.

The Tennessee Department of Treasury operates all programs and activities free from discrimination on the basis of sex, race, or
any other classification protected by federal or Tennessee state laws. Individuals with disabilities who may require an alternative
communication format for this or other Treasury Department publications should contact Treasury Department Human Resources
at 615-253-8769. Any person who believes she or he has been discriminated against in Treasury Department programs should write
to: Title VI Coordinatot, Treasury Department Human Resources, Andrew Jackson Building, 13th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243.
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CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION APPLICATION

SECTION A - ELIGIBLE EXPENSES

Please check the expenses below that you want this program to consider. Attach fully itemized bills to document all expenses.
Also, include proof of any payments made by you or other sources.

EI Medical Bills ':l Loss of Support to Dependents (in case of victim’s
death) - You must complete all of Section C and
provide the paperwork described there.

El Mental Health Counseling Bills - Services must be for the
victim or, in some cases, a relative of the victim.

Pain and Suffering - (ONLY for the victim of a sexually-
oriented crime.)

El Lost Wages - You must complete Section F of the application
and attach the paperwork described there.

I:I Moving Expenses - (ONLY for a victim if the crime
occurred in the primary residence and the move is
directly related to the crime.)

EI Permanent Impairment - Provide a doctor’s statement with
your impairment rating due to the injury from the crime.

EI Funeral and/or Burial Expenses ,:l Trial Travel Expenses - (To attend trial of the defendant

unless person is eligible for witness fees from the state
or federal prosecutor’s office.)

SECTION B - VICTIM INFORMATION

Tell us about the person who was injured or has died from injuries in the crime.

EI Crime Scene Cleanup Expenses

Is this person (the victim) deceased? []No []Yes

Victim’s Name

(Last) (First) (Maiden) (Middle)
Street Address Apt./Unit/Lot Number

(City) (County) (State) (Zip Code)
Phone Number Alternate Phone Number
pateofBirth [/ Age at Time of Crime

(mm/dd/yyyy)

e or I
Social Security Number Individual Taxpayer ID Number
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SECTION B - VICTIM INFORMATION (continued)

Please answer these questions about the victim named on page 1 (used for statistical purposes only):

Mentally Disabled?

D No D Yes

D No D Yes

Physically Disabled?

Race [C] American Indian/Alaska Native D Multiple Races
[] Asian [] Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander
[ Black/African American O White/Caucasian
O Hispanic or Latino O other (specify)

Gender [] male [Jremale

National Origin [ united states [l other

Who told you about this program?

O Hospital
D Internet/Web Search
[] Law Enforcement

[] Media (TV, radio, etc.)

O Posters/Brochure
D Prosecutor/Victim Witness Program

[1 social Services

[] other (specify)

(If you are the victim and at least 18 years of age, please skip to Section D now. See pages 3 and 4.)

SECTION C (PART 1): CLAIMANT INFORMATION

If you are not the victim named and described in Section B, please tell us which of these describes you:

l:l Guardian of a Victim Who is Under 18 Years of Age - Provide a copy of the child’s birth certificate or the guardianship
papers if you are not the child’s parent.

]

Representative of an Adult Victim - Provide documentation to show you have the legal right to file on the victim’s behalf.

Dependent of the Deceased Victim - A dependent means a family member who was receiving substantial support or
needed services at the time of the victim’s death. Submit proof of your relationship to the victim (e.g. marriage certificate,
birth certificate, etc.).

[]

Guardian of a Dependent of the Deceased Victim - If the dependent is under 18 years of age, provide a copy of the birth
certificate and the guardianship papers. If the dependent is an adult who is incompetent, provide a copy of the guardianship/
conservatorship or other papers.

Relative of the Deceased Victim Filing for Funeral/Burial, Crime Scene Clean-Up, Trial Travel, and/or Mental Health
Counseling Expenses

[]

If you are not the victim named in Section B, and you are one of the persons described above, provide your information below
and answer the following question:

How do you know the victim? The victim is my

Claimant’s Name

(Last) (First) (Maiden) (Middle)
Street Address Apt./Unit/Lot Number
City County State _ Zip Code
Phone Number Alternate Phone Number
DateofBirth  __  /  / — (mm/dd/yyyy)

- . or - :
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Social Security Number Individual Taxpayer ID Number
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SECTION C (PART 2): DECEASED VICTIM’S DEPENDENTS/LOSS OF SUPPORT

Did the victim contribute financial support to any dependents at the time of death? [ ] No []Yes
If no, skip to Section D.
If yes, submit proof of relationship to the victim and provide documentation that the victim substantially supported the

relative(s) at the time of death (e.g., tax returns, receipts, order for child support). Also, attach verification of the victim’s
income at the time of death (e.g., employer’s statement, W-2 form or tax return).

Provide names of the deceased victim’s dependents for whom you are filing a claim for loss of support. If available, please
submit a copy of the victim’s obituary notice.

Relation
Name Street Address City / State / Zip Code to Victim Birth Date
Did the victim leave other dependents who are not listed above? [JNo [] Yes
If yes, please provide their names and addresses below. Attach additional pages if necessary.
Relation
Name Street Address City / State / Zip Code to Victim Birth Date

SECTION D - CRIME INFORMATION

You must provide the date of the crime and county and state where the crime occurred. You can obtain the information from

the responding law enforcement agency. If the crime was not reported within 48 hours, submit a written statement explaining
why.

Type of Crime (check one):

] Murder/Homicide [C]child Physical Abuse ] Kidnapping

[] Adult Sexual Assault [C]child Sexual Abuse [ Arson

[ Robbery by Force I orunk Driver/DUI I Hit and Run (excluding property damage)

[ Assault ElStaIking D Human Trafficking

D Vehicular (Non-DUI) DTerrorism D Other (specify)

Was the crime domestic violence? D No I:l Yes Did the crime occur inside the victim’s home? I:l No D Yes

Date of Crime: ___ / ~ / ~~ Date Reported to Law Enforcement: _____,/ [/
(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)

Location of Crime:

(Street) (City) (County, required) (State, required)

Was the injury or death of the victim caused by a motor vehicle? CIno [ ves
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SECTION D - CRIME INFORMATION (continued)

Please describe what happened and the injuries suffered as a result. Attach a copy of the police report.
Also, please attach a copy of the death certificate if the victim is deceased.

Name and address of offender(s), if known. (By law, we are required to notify offender(s) of this claim.)

Did the victim know the offender(s)? I no [ Yes If yes, in what way?

Was the victim living in the same house with the offender at the time of the crime? [_] No [] Yes
Does the victim still live with the offender? I:l No El Yes

Who is handling the criminal case? D State Prosecutor D Federal Prosecutor

SECTION E - INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

Is there any benefit program, employer benefit, or insurance coverage to assist with the expenses being claimed?
D No D Yes

If yes, please check below the benefits that have been paid (or may be paid), in part or in full, for any expenses you are
claiming. Also, provide documentation of payments made.

[[] Automobile Insurance  [_] Homeowner’s Insurance [] social Security (death benefits, disability, etc.)
[] Burial Insurance [] Life Insurance [] vacation/Annual Pay

D Disability El Medicare/Medicaid/TennCare El Veterans Administration/Insurance

D Donations D Offender/Court-Ordered Restitution El Workers’ Compensation

[ Health Insurance [ sick Pay [ other (specify)

Has the court ordered the offender to pay you for your financial losses? []No [] Yes

If yes, please attach a copy of the order of restitution.

Have you filed or do you plan to file a lawsuit for your injuries? O No [ Yes [J unknown

If yes, and you are represented by an attorney, please provide the attorney’s name and telephone number.

SECTION F - LOST WAGES

Complete this section only if you are the victim named in Section B and you are claiming lost wages from your job at the time
of injury. Information needed to verify lost wages is described below. DO NOT complete this section if the victim is deceased.

Did you, the victim, miss work due to injuries? D No I:l Yes
If yes, please have your employer(s) complete an Employer’s Statement form. If you missed more than two weeks of work,
please provide a doctor’s statement or a doctor’s release to return to work.

Were you self-employed at the time of the crime? D No D Yes

If yes, submit the most recent income tax return or statements from those for whom the victim worked, showing
amount(s) paid and date(s) for a period of at least 12 months prior to the crime. If you missed more than two weeks of
work, please provide a doctor’s statement or a doctor’s release to return to work.
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SECTION G - AUTHORIZATION AND SUBROGATION

VERIFICATION OF APPLICATION: | hereby certify, subject to the penalty of fine and imprisonment, that the information contained in
this application for criminal injuries compensation is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

SUBROGATION: In consideration of the payment received from the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund, | agree to repay the Fund
the full amount | (or my child or ward) received from the Fund in the event | (or my child or ward) recover damages or compensation
from the offender or from any other public or private source as a result of the injuries or death which was the basis of my claim for
compensation from the Fund. For purposes of this Agreement, | understand that compensation from “any other public or private
source” includes, but is not limited to, receipt of insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, TennCare, workers’ compensation, disability pay,
etc. | further agree and understand that no part of the recovery due the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund may be diminished by
any collection fees or for any other reason whatsoever. Should | (or my child or ward) choose to recover damages or compensation
for the injury or death from any source, | agree to promptly notify the District Attorney General in the district where the crime
occurred and the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program by sending to the District Attorney General and the Compensation
Program copies of any pleadings, settlement proposals and any other documents relative thereto. | further agree to fully cooperate
with the State of Tennessee should the State institute an action against any person or entity for the recovery of all or any part of the
compensation | (or my child or ward) received from the Fund.

RELEASE OF INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION: | hereby authorize any hospital, physician, funeral director, municipal authority,
employer or union, insurance company, social service bureau, Social Security office, or any other person, firm, agency, or organization
to furnish to the Tennessee Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund, or its representative, any information requested, including tax data
and prior police records, needed to perfect my claim for compensation. A photocopy of this authorization shall be considered as
effective and valid as the original.

PUBLIC RECORDS: Except as otherwise provided by applicable federal or state law, the information contained in this application

and all documents submitted in support of your claim are subject to the Public Records Laws of the State of Tennessee pursuant to
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 10, Chapter 7, Part 5.

| certify that | have read and/or understand and agree to the above statements.

Victim/Claimant’s Signature: Date:

Victim/Claimant’s Printed Name:

State of / County of
Sworn to and subscribed before me, the undersigned Notary, on this, the day of , 20
(SEAL) Notary’s Signature:

My Commission Expires:

SECTION H - ATTORNEY INFORMATION

If you choose an attorney to complete the application for you, the attorney must complete and sign this section. NOTE: This is not
the state or federal prosecutor handling the criminal case.

Attorney’s Full Name:

Address:

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (Zip Code)

Phone Number: FEIN or SSN:

Attorney Certification - | hereby certify that | have been retained by and represent the victim and/or claimant filing this application.
| further certify that | have read through this entire application with such person and that such person indicated that he/she
understood every question and provision contained herein.

Attorney’s Signature/Date:
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