Treasury HomeContact Us

Related Topics

Work Comp Training

First Fill Forms

 

 

 

  • Death Benefits

The benefits provided under Tennessee's workers' compensation law are set out in Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 50, Chapter 6.

Payment of Death Benefits

If your compensable injury results in your death, the workers' compensation law specifies that compensation will be paid to your surviving dependents. As with both the temporary and permanent disability benefits, the maximum benefit payable is based on the date the compensable injury occurred. Death benefits are payable biweekly to your surviving spouse until the amount due has been paid in full; however, if your spouse remarries, then your spouse's benefit ceases to be paid. A benefit is also payable to any surviving dependents until each dependent reaches his eighteenth birthday (or twenty-second birthday if enrolled in a recognized educational institution), regardless of whether your spouse remarries. If you have no surviving dependents, your estate is eligible for a payment of $20,000 ($10,000 for accidents occurring prior to July 1, 1999) plus reimbursement of up to $7,500 ($4,500 for accidents occurring prior to July 1, 1999) for funeral and burial expenses actually incurred. Proof of funeral and burial expenses must be submitted for this reimbursement.

Maximum Workers' Compensation Benefits

For Accidents Occurring
Maximum Payment
July 1, 2008 - June 30, 2009
$300,800
July 1, 2009 - June 30, 2010
$304,400
July 1, 2010 - June 30, 2011
$306,000
July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2012
$315,600
July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013
$322,400