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If you or someone you know has been an innocent victim of violent crime in Tennessee, the Criminal Injuries 
Compensation Fund may be a financial resource for you.

The Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund was established as a fund of last resort to financially assist innocent victims 
of violent crime in Tennessee that results in personal injury. In the case of death, dependent relatives may be eligible for 
compensation. The program has paid out $301.2 million in claims to victims and their families since 1982.

Victims and claimants who meet eligibility requirements may be 
reimbursed for medical expenses, loss of wages, funeral expenses and 
other unforeseen costs related to the crime.

This brochure contains general information, and is not intended to 
be used as a sole source. Please visit treasury.tn.gov/injury for more 
information on the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program.

A Resource for Victims

The mission of the Tennessee Department of Treasury
is to invest in the well-being of Tennesseans.

The Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund
is one way we hope to do so.



Individuals may be eligible for financial assistance if they are:
Who is Eligible?

Additionally, a victim must meet the following conditions to be eligible for compensation:
•  The crime must be reported to authorities within 48 hours unless victim is a minor or there is good cause.
•  The crime must have happened in Tennessee.
•  The victim’s actions cannot contribute to the crime.
•  The victim/claimant must fully cooperate with police and efforts to prosecute.
•  A claim must be filed within one year of the crime, unless there is good cause.

The Victim
• The victim of the crime
    (the individual who received personal injury)

Relatives
• A dependent relative of a deceased victim
• The relative of a homicide victim who received mental health counseling
• A relative responsible for funeral/burial costs
• A sibling or parent of a victim of child sexual abuse who has received counseling
• A victim’s child who witnessed domestic violence against the parent and received counseling

Administrator
• The administrator of a deceased victim’s estate

Preventing Crime
• Someone who was injured trying to prevent crime or apprehend a criminal

Medical Bills

Loss of Financial Support
to Dependents

Lost Wages

Funeral and Burial Expenses

Pain and Suffering

Moving Expenses

Deposits, Rent, and
Utility Bills

Travel to Doctor
Appointments

Costs from Identity Theft
or Fraud

Lost, Stolen or
Damaged Property

• Health Insurance
• Auto Insurance
• Life/Burial Insurance
• Sick/Vacation Pay
• Workers’ Comp

Costs Covered By:

• Court-Ordered Restitution
• Donations
• Home-Owner’s Insurance
• ANY other public or     
    private resource

Based on state law, some restrictions apply.
Visit treasury.tn.gov/injury or call (615) 741-2734 for a full list of eligible and ineligible expenses.



Apply for Compensation
In most cases, a claimant (individual applying for 
compensation) is the individual responsible for 
payment of expenses associated with the crime. 
Legal guardians must file claims for those under 
18 or those incapable of filing on their own behalf. 
Below is the process: 

Additional information and applications are 
available in both English and Spanish at
treasury.tn.gov/injury. 
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Help is available to you
at any point in this

process. Contact our
Customer Service

Representative with
any questions,

comments, or concerns.
 

treasury.tn.gov/injury
  

(615)741-2734
 

Help is available to you at any point 
in this process. Contact our Customer 

Service Representative with any 
questions, comments, or concerns.

What is the maximum compensation?
The maximum benefit of combined expenses for a victim and/or other 
eligible persons is $32,000 for crimes occurring on or after July 1, 2017.

Should I file a claim if my bills have been paid by insurance? 
It depends. The program is a fund of last resort, and can only consider 
those portions of a bill that are not covered by another source. 

Do I need a police report?
Yes, or another official document to show the crime was reported 
appropriately.

Does an arrest have to be made before I file a claim?
No. It is possible the offender may not be identified or arrested.

Must the case in court be finished before I file a claim?
No. In fact, the trial may not be finished until after the time limit to file 
a claim has expired.

How are payments made?
Payments may be made directly to the service provider, or, in some 
cases, directly to the victim. 

How are awards paid to a minor?
Usually, an award that is paid directly to a minor is placed in trust with 
the juvenile court. The court will determine if the funds may be used 
before the child reaches age eighteen.

Are victims of car/boating accidents eligible?
If the victim is injured in one of these specific crimes: DUI, fleeing the 
scene of an accident (with a serious injury), or a driver intentionally 
struck the victim. Certain exclusions apply for passengers riding with 
an intoxicated driver. 

Who are the eligible relatives?
As defined by law, the victim’s “relatives” include the spouse, parent, 
grandparent, stepparent, child, grandchild, brother, half-brother, sister, 
half-sister, and the spouse’s parents or stepparents.

How long does it take to process a claim?
Each situation is unique depending on circumstances such as 
complexity of claim and current volume. Claims are typically processed 
within 90 days, but incomplete applications, missing documentation, 
and suspended claims may delay the process. 

Frequently Asked Questions
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The Tennessee Department of Treasury operates all programs and activities free from discrimination on the basis of sex, race, or any other classification protected 
by federal or Tennessee state law. Individuals with disabilities who may require an alternative communication format for this or other Treasury Department 
publications, please contact the Treasury ADA coordinator at 615-741-2956.
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