If a person has alleged damage by the State, they may be eligible for compensation for their loss or damage
Tort is defined as a wrongful act other than a breach of contract for which relief may be obtained in the form of damages or an injunction.
In other words, if you have been damaged due to negligence, malpractice, or other similar means by the State, you may be able to file a claim.
Tennessee is one of the few states with a law that provides a method for persons who have been allegedly damaged by the State to file a claim for documented damage.
State law provides a method for persons who have been allegedly damaged by the State to file a claim for documented damages. If appropriate, the claimant may be compensated for their loss or damage.
Claims are paid through the Risk Management Fund. This fund is supported by premiums paid by each State department, agency and institution based on actuarial analysis.
If you receive damage to your automobile as a result of a condition on a Tennessee state road or highway you may be able to file a claim against the State to recover your damages. As the claimant, you will be required to prove:
To support your claim, you will also need to provide:
If you believe you have been damaged by the State, and would like to file a claim, you may do so through our online portal.
All of the information must be filled out in one session. You cannot save your information and return to it later. For this reason, please be prepared to provide all relevant details of the incident, including date and location, and have all supporting documentation ready to upload in PDF or Word format before you begin.
NOTE: It is a misdemeanor to file a false claim with the Division of Claims and Risk Management.
Click any of the following questions to view the answer.
By the statute the Tennessee General Assembly gave the State Treasurer authority to handle claims against the state. The Treasurer delegates that authority to the Treasury Division of Claims and Risk Management.
The Division of Claims and Risk Management works to protect the financial integrity of all State-owned assets, maintaining a safe working environment for state employees and the general public. The Division administers and pays claims from four separate funds: Risk Management Fund, Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund, Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund, and Teachers Excess Liability Fund.
An individual, who believes he or she has incurred property or personal damage due to the negligence of a state employee or state official, can file a claim against the State.
To file a claim against the State the individual must give notice in writing, using the Claims For Damages form. For property damage as we do ask for two estimates of repair. For claims of personal injuries, we ask for documentation of all medical bills and treatment notes from your physician.
No. It is possible the offender may not be identified or arrested.
By statute, the Division of Claims and Risk Management has 90 days from the receipt of the claim to evaluate and review the claim to determine if there is sufficient proof of negligence.
When a claim is received, a claims examiner will send an acknowledgement letter to the claimant. This letter could include any requests for additional documentation if needed to evaluate the claim.
Any policy changes would be made by the Tennessee General Assembly. The Treasurer’s office follows the guidelines they set by statute.
Claims that exceed $50,000 are turned over to the State Attorney General’s office.
The Division of Claims and Risk management works with state entities to help them better understand their areas of vulnerabilities and help mitigate exposure to risk.
See "Examples of Claims Filed against the State" section above.
Services at a Glance
Criminal Injuries Compensation
Cyber Incident Response Plan
Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund
SAFE Program (for Medical Professionals)
Teacher's Excess Liability Coverage
Have questions about TORT liability? We're here to help!
502 Deaderick StreetNashville, TN 37243-0202