Victims and claimants who meet eligibility requirements may be reimbursed for medical expenses, loss of wages, and other unforeseen costs.
¿Lesionado en un crimen violento? Tal vez le podamos ayudar.
If you or someone you know is an innocent victim of a violent crime committed in the State of Tennessee, the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund may be a financial resource for you.
The Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund was established as a fund of last resort to financially assist innocent victims of violent crime in Tennessee that results in personal injury. In the case of death, dependent relatives may be eligible for compensation. Victims and claimants who meet eligibility requirements may be reimbursed for medical expenses, loss of wages, and other unforeseen costs related to the crime.
The mission of the Tennessee Department of Treasury is to invest in the well-being of Tennesseans, and the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program is one way we hope to do so. To find out if you may be eligible for compensation, please visit our eligibility requirements below.
The Division contracts with CorVel Corporation, a claims management company, for the processing of claims for the Criminal Injuries program.
View printable resource guide
View printable resource guide—Español (Spanish)
Individuals may be eligible for financial assistance from the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund if they are:
Additionally, a victim must meet the following conditions to be eligible for compensation:
If you meet these requirements, please review the covered expenses and apply using the Apply for Compensation section below. Be sure to follow the detailed instructions provided when applying.
This includes medical expenses directly related to the injury from the crime, up to the maximum award available. Any counseling services must be necessary due to the injury and may be considered for the victim up to the maximum award. In some cases, certain relatives may qualify up to a maximum of $3,500 for mental health counseling.
The victim may qualify if employed at the time of injury. The program only considers wages lost because the victim is not physically able to work after the injury. Appropriate documentation is required to prove the wages lost.
This requires a rating of the injury by a doctor and any payment is based on the victim’s weekly wage, the impairment rating, and provisions in the law.
Certain relatives may qualify (see eligible relatives) up to a maximum of $6,000 for funeral and burial expenses.
There must be proof the victim was supporting the dependent(s) at the time of death. Those filing for a dependent child (or as an adult child) of the victim must provide proof of paternity. Any benefits for loss of support fall within the program maximum and may be divided among all eligible persons.
A victim of a sexually-oriented crime may be eligible for up to $3,000, if it is determined he or she experienced pain and suffering as a result of the crime.
If the crime occurs in the victim’s primary residence, payment may be considered for a victim’s reasonable moving costs, storage fees, and utility transfer fee.
If the crime occurs in the victim’s or an eligible relative’s home, the program may consider up to $3,000 in costs for cleaning and removal of materials. This does not include repairs or replacement.
Up to $1,250 in travel expenses to attend the trial and certain proceedings after it may be considered for up to four eligible persons, including the victim and certain relatives. Persons who are eligible to receive witness fees from the state or county are not eligible.
* Exceptions may include eyeglasses, dental devices, some medically-related devices, and prosthetics (if it is clear they were damaged in the crime)
Expenses that are (or will be) paid by the following are not eligible:
Use the resources below to file a claim for compensation.
In most cases, a claimant (individual applying for compensation) is the individual responsible for payment of expenses associated with the crime. Legal guardians must file claims for those under 18 or those incapable of filing on their own behalf. The application should be submitted online through the link below.
Ver la versión en español (Spanish)
File a Claim
If you have been injured in a crime in the state of Tennessee, you or certain family members may apply to the Tennessee Criminal Injuries Compensation Program for help with the injury-related expenses, you may do so through our online portal.
All of the information must be filled out in one session. You cannot save your information and return to it later. For this reason, please be prepared to provide all relevant details of the incident, including date and location, and have all supporting documentation ready to upload in PDF or Word format before you begin.
NOTE: It is a misdemeanor to file a false claim with the Division of Claims and Risk Management.
Advocates are an important part of the Criminal Injuries Compensation program. We value your help in reaching victims and helping them understand the resources available to them.
If you work with victims who meet our eligibility requirements and are struggling financially, please share our information so they can take advantage of this resource.
We hold several CIC advocate training sessions throughout the year to equip you with the tools you need to help victims. To join our advocate email list and receive fund updates and training schedules, please reach out to us at Criminal.Injury@tn.gov.
View training for Advocates
Click any of the following questions to view the answer.
The maximum benefit of combined expenses for a victim and/or other eligible persons is $32,000, for crimes occurring on or after July 1, 2017.
It depends. The program is a fund of last resort, and can only consider those portions of a bill that are not covered by another source.
Yes, or another official document to show the crime was reported appropriately.
No. It is possible the offender may not be identified or arrested.
No. In fact, the trial may not be finished until after the time limit to file a claim has expired.
As defined by Tennessee law, the victim’s “relatives” include the spouse, parent, grandparent, stepparent, child, grandchild, brother, half-brother, sister, half-sister, and the spouse’s parents or stepparents.
Payments may be made directly to the service provider, or, in some cases, directly to the victim.
Usually, an award that is paid directly to a minor is placed in trust with the juvenile court. The court will determine if the funds may be used before the child reaches age 18.
If the victim is injured in one of these specific crimes: DUI, fleeing the scene of an accident (with a serious injury), or a driver intentionally struck the victim. Certain exclusions apply for passengers riding with an intoxicated driver.
Each situation is unique depending on circumstances such as complexity of claim and current volume. Claims are typically processed within 90 days, but incomplete applications, missing documentation, and suspended claims may delay the process.
Help is available to you at any point in this process. Contact (866) 960-6039 with any questions, comments or concerns.
Services at a Glance
Criminal Injuries Compensation
Cyber Incident Response Plan
Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund
SAFE Program (for Medical Professionals)
Teacher's Excess Liability Coverage
Have questions about the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund?
2000 Mallory Ln, Ste 130-398
Franklin, TN 37067-8231