Report Unclaimed Property

Education and Resources

The Unclaimed Property Division offers resources to help businesses submit their annual reporting timely and free of errors.

The unclaimed property process


 

Unclaimed Property 101

 

How to report unclaimed property in Tennessee
How to identify unclaimed property
How to locate the owner
Submitting your unclaimed property report

Request Unclaimed Property Holder Education

If you would like to request for someone to speak at your engagement, please fill out this form and a member of our team will contact you within 72 hours.

Request for Unclaimed Property to speak at your engagement

Reporting software options

There are various vendors that supply Unclaimed Property reporting software.

The functionality and price of each option may differ slightly. A free, NAUPA-approved version is available through HRS Pro. You may also visit the NAUPA website to create your own NAUPA file.

female working on laptop in office

Forms and guides

For a complete listing of forms, reporting guides, and instructions, visit the Forms and Guides section.

Visit Forms and Guides

law scales and gavel in library

Are you currently in compliance?

If you are an entity that in some aspect is currently not in compliance with the State of Tennessee Unclaimed Property laws, we provide an opportunity for you to come into compliance.

Your admittance in our CDA program will waive any possible penalties you would incur.

Begin your path to compliance

Frequently Asked Questions

Click any of the following questions to view the answer.

How do I contact the Unclaimed Property Division?

Please email us at: ucp.holders@tn.gov

At what times will I receive emails?

Emails are sent to confirm a user and when payments are received and processed.

Where can I find forms for requesting a refund, common property types, and more?

Please visit: Forms and Guides

When is the report and remittance due?

Reports are due by November 1st of each year. NOTE: The reporting deadline has changed from May 1st to November 1st, beginning in 2019. Please see Laws and Statutes for more information on the reporting deadline change.

Can I report and deliver property before the prescribed dormancy period has elapsed?

Yes, TCA 66-29-138(b) allows a holder to report before the statutory due date if due diligence requirements have been met.

What do I do if I forget my password?

From the log in page, select “forget your password?” you will receive an email to reset the password at the address provided.

What are the primary and secondary users?

A primary user manages the group of users, but all users (primary and secondary) are able to review and select files that have been submitted (completed or not completed), create a new report (positive or negative), and make payments on any existing file.

What should I do if a primary user leaves the company?

Contact the Unclaimed Property Division at UCP.Holders@tn.gov so that the primary user can be switched from the inactive user to a secondary user.

How can someone else with my company make payments?

Once the person is registered as a secondary user, they can make payments on any file.

What is the difference between a positive and negative report?

A positive report has a value greater than $0.00 and a negative report is a $0.00 report.

Are negative reports required?

No. Effective with the 2006 annual reporting period, negative reports have not been required.

Which file formats are accepted? Can my file be encrypted?

The file you use to report unclaimed property on the web application should be the standard NAUPA formats: .txt, .hde or .rpt. use the .hde format for encrypted files.

What does it mean if the file selected to submit is rejected? What do the errors in the error report mean?

The system either accepts the entire file or rejects it. If the file is rejected, there is an error and the error report will detail the specific errors on each line inside the file.

What do I do now that I received errors after my file was rejected?

Once you have reviewed the errors in the error report, correct the mistakes you are able to, or contact the creator of the file in order to resolve all issues, and then resubmit. After trying this and using the complete reporting guide as a reference, you may contact the unclaimed property division if you are having trouble uploading the file.

Should I be cautious with error reports?

Yes. there may be sensitive PII on the downloaded error report; so proceed with necessary measures.

Can a file have multiple reports?

Yes, the file can have multiple reports.

How do I know which holder to choose when submitting a negative report?

Locate the holder by name and tax ID. You can delete the report if you happen to select the wrong holder.

Can I make payments? What are ACH payments?

All remitted funds should be made through the online portal ReportItTN by ACH (automated clearing house payments. you have the option to make ACH debit or ACH credit payments.

What should I do if my reporting organization does not have the capability to make an ACH payment?

If you are unable to make an ACH debit or ACH credit payment through the online portal ReportItTN you may request permission to make an alternative payment. The only other option is by Fed wire. you can make this request by emailing ucp.holders@tn.gov. If approved you will be sent the Fed wire instructions. Payments made by check will be assessed penalties.

What is the most common error when making an ACH payment?

A debit-block may be on your account when the treasury attempts to pull the remitted funds, rejecting the transaction as an unauthorized debit. Contact your financial institutions prior to making payment and give them our company ID # u626001445 to allow the upcoming transaction.

How long does it take to process payments?

Normally, payments should be processed within three to five business days of the transaction.

How should securities and tangibles be remitted and what information is required?

Please refer to the complete reporting guide to remit all other property.